PortEV Forum Index PortEV
Electric Vehicle Discussion Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Electric Catamaran HELP!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hyprdrv

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:39 am    Post subject: Electric Catamaran HELP! Reply with quote

Hi all,
I'm new to EV systems however I decided to purchase a 41' Catamaran with a Hybrid setup. The problem is the previous owner had made some changes and now I'm in the process of figuring out several of the systems that have been installed and upgrading were I believe there is a need. I'm located on the Chesapeake Bay down in Solomons MD on the East Coast. Electra Glide is a beautiful cat with a designed system from Solomons Engineering now located in Florida. Most of the systems on board are considered ďstate of the artĒ however there are a few issues Iím having that Iím hoping someone will have pity on me and help me out. So hereís what I got.

Twin 74 Solomons electric motors with Advanced Technology Controllers (2 per motor)
A 16kw Genset
Brusa 511 Charger
12 AGM Northstar Batteries in series giving me 144v at 210AH
An inverter from 144v to 120v
An inverter from 144v to 12v
Virtually no monitoring of the system other than a DC Volt meter, overall state of the batteries, and 2 DC amp meters to indicate what the usage (or charging) is at the motors.

The batteries are charged in 1 of 3 ways.

Genset providing 144v DC
Shore power providing 240v AC
Regeneration from the props.

The issues